Edinburgh Architectural Awards at ECCI

04 May 2016

As a past winner of the Building of the Year award ECCI is delighted to host the event for the second year in a row.

There are four categories of award: Building of the Year, Conservation & Regeneration Award, Small Projects Award, EAA Ambassador Award. In addition the Forestry Commission Scotland and Wood for Good have combined to sponsor an award aimed at encouraging innovative and creative use of timber in new buildings in Scotland - the Wood Award.

The following projects have been short listed for the 2016 EAA Awards for the Building of the Year. You can see the short list of the other categories here.

Building of the Year shortlist:

  • Murphy House, Hart Street - Richard Murphy Architects
  • Solid House - Beecher Architect
  • Westfield Avenue Phase Two - 7N Architects

The 2016 Judges are Ben Rainger RIAS - EAA Junior Vice President, Gloria Lo RIAS - EAA CPD Coordinator, Mark Douglas Lead Officer (Built Heritage & Design) - Scottish Borders Council and Anna Stuart MBE - Chair of Cassiltoun Trust.

The results will be announced at a celebratory drinks event at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation on Thursday 5th May 2016 from 6pm-9pm. A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the Chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and south Fife. These can be obtained by applying to Stuart Bryce mail@eaa.org.uk. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

An exhibition showcasing the shortlisted entries is due to be held at the RIAS, Joyce B Deans room at 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh from mid April 2016. This will be open to the public from 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday. Images of the short listed entries will be available to view on our website shortly.