Skip to the main content

ECCI Director advises on Climate Change Plan

ECCI's Director, Professor Dave Reay, has been appointed to the Scottish Government’s Climate Change Plan Advisory Group - a cross-party group chaired by Cabinet Secretary Michael Matheson designed to inform the development of the new Climate Change Plan for Scotland.

The current Climate Change Plan sets outs the actions required for Scotland to meet targets set out in its ambitious climate change legislation, which includes a target date for net zero emissions of all greenhouse gases by 2045. 

The Plan was last updated in December 2020 and set out the Scottish Government's pathway to new and ambitious targets set by the Climate Change Act 2019 and was a key strategic document on Scotland’s green recovery from COVID-19. The next full statutory Climate Change Plan process is due to be completed by early 2025.

Dave Reay is also Professor of Carbon Management at the University of Edinburgh and Director of Policy at ClimateXChange - Scotland's Centre of Exprtise for Climate Chnage - acting as the key contact for Scottish Government.

Professor Reay also sits on a number of other policy advisory groups including Climate Emergency Response Group (CERG), Chair, Climate Emergency Skills Action Plan (CESAP) Implementation Steering Group, Scottish Government, Chair, Workforce & Skills Advisory Group, UK Climate Change Committee, Academic Advisor on Rural Policy and Climate Change, Scottish Government, NSET Skilled Workforce Programme Board, Scottish Government and UK Universities Climate Network Steering Group (Education & Skills).